Two APTN staffers win NAJA Free Press award - APTN NewsAPTN News

Two APTN staffers win NAJA Free Press award

The Native American Journalists Association (NAJA) has singled out two APTN journalists for upholding freedom of the press.

Karyn Pugliese and Justin Brake will receive the Elias Boudinot Free Press Award in September, which recognizes dedication and commitment to upholding freedom of the press, information and transparency in Indian Country.

NAJA will hold its 2019 National Native Media Conference in Prior Lake, Minn.

Pugliese is APTN’s executive director of news and current affairs, while Brake is a reporter/correspondent in the network’s Ottawa bureau.

They were nominated for, among other coverage, stories about the Indigenous-led occupation of the Muskrat Fall hydroelectric dam on Innu territory in Labrador.

READ MORE: Court decision a victory for journalists covering Indigenous protests

Tags: , , , , ,