A Tribe Called Red without DJ Shub? - APTN NewsAPTN News

A Tribe Called Red without DJ Shub?

(DJ Shub. Photo courtesy of DJ Shub)

APTN National News
DJ Shub, one of the original members of A Tribe Called Red, says he needs to consult with lawyers before issuing an official statement on whether he is with the ground-breaking, Juno award-winning music group.

DJ Shub, also known as Dan General, posted a statement on his Facebook page Thursday from a fellow musician who was lamenting DJ Shub’s departure from A Tribe Called Red.

When contacted by APTN National News, DJ Shub said he couldn’t comment on the matter.

“We are waiting to hear from lawyers right now and an official statement will be released then if that’s what’s going on,” said DJ Shub, in a Facebook message.

Derek Edenshaw, better known as West Coast Native hip hop pioneer Manik 1derful, posted the Facebook statement shared by DJ Shub and stood by its content when contacted by APTN National News.

“Is a Tribe Called Red gonna be the same without DJ Shub,” said Edenshaw. “I wish them to become even more successful…but the DJ World is buzzing that their number one weapon DJ Shub is now replaced by 2oolman. Now 2oolman is a dope producer, but Shub was the only DJ on the squad that is battle tested and extremely technical. A lot of folks who love the art of DJ’ing knew that DJ Shub made ‘em official.”


Part 1

Part II

Part II


Edenshaw said that’s the way the music industry works.

“Well luckily they branded themselves. Like any good group, the members are expendable in the eyes of most,” he said, in a Facebook conversation. “If you’re a real hip hop fan like me and really into the arts, you know.”

A Tribe Called Red is currently in Ostrava, Czech Republic at the Colours of Ostrava Festival. They return to Canada on July 25 for the Calgary Folk Music Festival.

DJ Shub is taking solo bookings.

APTN National News sent an email to the group’s management requesting comment and is awaiting a response.

A Tribe Called Red won a Juno this year for Breakthrough Group of the Year.