Indigenous Resistance - InFocus - APTN NewsAPTN News

Indigenous Resistance – InFocus



News that not only informs, but inspires.

APTN InFocus

In this season premiere of the new and expanded version of APTN InFocus, protectors of the water and land join host, Cheryl McKenzie to talk about Indigenous Resistance.

Across the country, Indigenous nations are standing up and asserting that they’re not going to make it easy for industrial development to happen on their traditional lands and waterways.

The stance by the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe in North Dakota has inspired hundreds more Tribes to join them in solidarity to protect the Missouri River from the Dakota Access Pipeline.

Indigenous resistance under the theme, ‘Water Is Life’ – has caught worldwide attention.  In this edition, we turn our cameras toward Canada as our guests and viewers share their thoughts on where we go from here.

*Program note: APTN InFocus is now a LIVE one-hour show every Wednesday at 12pm Pacific, 1pm Mountain, 2pm Central, 3pm Eastern, 4pm Atlantic.  We also open the telephone lines and invite viewers to call in.  Plus, we have incorporated social media responses and questions.  Join our discussion every week!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,